casting _the actor_

Mingle Media TV and our Red Carpet Report team were invited to come out to the American Fine Arts Foundry in Burbank to experience the pouring of the Actor statues, which are individually crafted for this year’s 24th SAG Awards.

At the event were SAG Awards nominees Ann Dowd (The Handmaid’s Tale, The Leftovers) and Clea Duvall (Veep, Argo – for which she received an Actor). Representing the SAG Awards were SAG Awards Committee Vice Chair Daryl Anderson and Committee Members Woody Schultz and Elizabeth McLaughlin. Also present were the skilled craftsmen working with the lost wax process and pouring molten metal under the direction of Brett Barney and Angel Meza.

About the 24th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards®

24th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards® presented by SAG-AFTRA with Screen Actors Guild Awards, LLC will be produced by Avalon Harbor Entertainment, Inc. and will be simulcast live on TNT and TBS on Sunday, Jan. 21, 2018 at 8 p.m. (ET) / 5 p.m. (PT). TBS and TNT subscribers can also watch the SAG Awards live through the networks’ websites and mobile apps. In addition, TNT will present a primetime encore of the ceremony immediately following the live presentation. The telecast is available internationally, including to U.S. military installations through the American Forces Network.

Honorees for outstanding television and film stunt ensemble action performances will be announced from the red carpet during the SAG Awards Red Carpet Pre-show.

One of the awards season’s premier events, the SAG Awards® annually celebrates the outstanding motion pictures and television performances from the previous calendar year. Of the top industry honors presented to actors, only the SAG Awards are selected entirely performers’ peers in SAG-AFTRA, which this year number 121,544. The SAG Awards was the first televised awards show to acknowledge the work of union members and the first to present awards to motion picture casts and television ensembles. For more information about the SAG Awards®, SAG-AFTRA, TNT and TBS, visit

Connect with the SAG Awards®
Hashtag: #sagawards